Our 2021 Annual Seminar in Review

The 2021 seminar was filled with informative content, engaging speakers and two highly entertaining emcees! From keynoter Joe Maddon to the Stadium Manager Panel and everything in between, we hope you learned something new, made some connections and enjoyed a few laughs over the two days.

We can never say this enough... thank you to our speakers, sponsors, technology team, our hosts Rick Nafe and Jim Folk, participants and Raymond James Stadium for making this year a successful seminar!

2021 New Board Members
The annual meeting was held in conjunction with Seminar and included a vote for two open board positions. Please welcome incumbent Mario Coutinho and Kevin Kahn!

2021-2022 SMA Officers:
Mario Coutinho- President
Angie Nix - Vice President
Justin Durfey - Treasurer
Matt Kastel - Past President 

Lifetime Achievement Award
Our Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Joe Abernathy! Joe is a thirty-year veteran of the Stadium Management industry, beginning his time with the St. Louis Cardinals when his employer Anheuser-Busch loaned him to the Cards.

Joe has been a member of SMA since 1996, attending the first of his 26 consecutive Annual Seminars in Tuscon, AZ - the monsoon year, not the snow and sleet year.

He has been a member of the SMA Board of Directors for fourteen years, serving on a variety of committees, as Treasurer, Vice President and President, and most recently as the ex officio Chair of the Alumni Committee.

Joe has been instrumental in establishing and maintaining relationships with our industry partners, including Green Sports Alliance, TEAM Coalition, and NCS4.

SMA will hold a formal presentation honoring Joe at next year's seminar in Margaritaville.
Most Engaged Managers
Congratulations to the top three most engaged managers!  Each person won a cash prize for their participation in a variety of activities including Seminar, the new mobile app, SMA Foundation, and more! Thank you to Daktronics for sponsoring the contest and all who participated! 

1st Place - Angie Nix
2nd Place - Jason Feysk
3rd Place - Jason Feysk


Save the Date!
February 6-10, 2022 in Margaritaville, Florida!