SMA Announces 2019 Board of Directors

The Stadium Managers Association (SMA) held its annual vote for the 2019 Board of Directors at the Association’s recent annual conference in Hollywood Beach, Florida.  

Following the general election, the Board elected officers to serve a term of one year beginning in February 2019. 

KastelMatthew Kastel (pictured left), Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Maryland Stadium Authority, was elected as President.  Joe Abernathy, Busch Stadium, St. Louis Cardinals, was elected as Vice President. Mario Coutinho, Rogers Centre, Toronto Blue Jays Baseball Club, was elected as Secretary/Treasurer. Troy Brown, FirstEnergy Stadium, Cleveland Browns, will serve as Past President. Kelsey Smith, CenturyLink Field, Seattle Seahawks, was elected to serve on the SMA Board of Directors.

The Board recognized Tony Pereira, State Farm Stadium, Arizona Cardinals, for his service upon completion of two terms on the Board of Director. Tony also served as President of SMA in 2017. 

Ex-Officio advisors include Seminar Chair Rick Nafe, Tropicana Field, Tampa Bay Rays, Assistant Seminar Chair, Jim Folk, Progressive Field, Cleveland Indians, Legal Counsel Mike McCormick, McCormick & Associates, LLC, Advisory Council, Jim Minish, and Historian, Bill Wilson.


The Stadium Managers Association (SMA) is an organization that educates and provides industry resources to assist professional and collegiate stadium managers in achieving the highest levels of facility administration and operation. SMA supports and promotes the professional relationships and networking among stadium managers, league officials and industry suppliers that contribute to the success of our members. 

The Association is committed to being the primary industry resource for Sports Facility Managers and Leading Suppliers in the stadium industry.