News Portal

SMA Announces 2021 Board of Directors

The Stadium Managers Association (SMA) held its annual vote for the 2021 Board of Directors at the Association’s February hybrid seminar.

Following the general election, the Board elected officers to serve a term of one year beginning in February 2021.

Mario Coutinho, Rogers Centre, Toronto Blue Jays Baseball Club was elected as President. Angie Nix, Levi’s Stadium, San Francisco 49ers, was elected as Vice President. Justin Durfey, BYU LaVell Edwards Stadium, was elected as Secretary/Treasurer. Matt Kastel, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Maryland Stadium Authority will serve as Past President.

Nicole Andrews, Matrax, Inc; Matt Kenny, Kansas City Chiefs Football Club; Kelsey Smith, CenturyLink Field, Seattle Seahawks and Kevin Kahn, Coors Field Colorado Rockies, were elected to serve on the SMA Board of Directors.

The Board recognized Joe Abernathy, St. Louis Cardinals, for his 14 years of board service including serving on a variety of committees, as Treasurer, Vice President, President, and most recently, as the ex-officio Chair of the Alumni Committee.

Ex-Officio advisors include Seminar Chair Rick Nafe, (retired), Seminar Co-Chair, Jim Folk, Progressive Field, Cleveland Indians, Legal Counsel Mike McCormick, McCormick & Associates, LLC, Advisory Council, Troy Brown, Alumni Chair, FirstEnergy Stadium, Cleveland Browns, and Historian, Bill Wilson.

The Stadium Managers Association (SMA) is an organization that educates and provides industry resources to assist professional and collegiate stadium managers in achieving the highest levels of facility administration and operation. SMA supports and promotes the professional relationships and networking among stadium managers, league officials and industry suppliers that contribute to the success of our members.

The Association is committed to being the primary industry resource for Sports Facility Managers and Leading Suppliers in the stadium industry.